We Are All Great

I was getting the kids ready to go out one day, and Phoebie randomly asked me a question.

“Mummy, are you the greatest in the family?” She asked.

I wasn’t too sure what she was asking about. “What do you mean?” I asked her back.

“Are you the greatest person in the family?” She asked again.

“Well, no, Phoebie,” I told her. “I’m not the greatest person in the family.”

“Then who is the greatest person in the family? Is it Papa?” She continued to ask.

 I wasn’t too sure why she suddenly asked about this but I decided to answer her in the best way that I can. “Papa is not the greatest person too. But you know what? We are all great, Phoebie. We are all great in different ways. Papa is great because he is always working hard so that he can earn money for the family, and he always tries to do different activities with Breyen and you. You are great because you are a wonderful big sister who is my best helper and always takes good care of Breyen. Breyen is great because he always gives you hugs when he sees you crying and he always makes us laugh. I am great because I try my best to take good care of all of you. So, we are all great in our own special ways.”

Phoebie seemed satisfied with how I answered her. “So we are all great in different ways,” she said.

“That’s right,” I confirmed.

I still don’t know why she asked that question but explaining to her how we are all great in our own ways felt good. It helped me affirm her importance in the family, and it strangely helped me to reflect on why I am great in the family. We are all great.

Leave a comment