Homemade Double Chocolate Chip Frappe

Recently someone shared the recipe of the Double Chocolate Chip Frappe (also known as DCCF) on Facebook and I told myself that I had to try it. DCCF was one of my favourite Starbucks drinks when I was living in the US. No coffee for me, a DCCF would do the trick.

20140227-221816.jpg The recipe looked simple enough and I made sure I bought low fat milk, semi-sweet chocolate chips and the vanilla extract just so I could make the drink.

20140227-221923.jpg I made sure I lined up all the ingredients and double checked the portions.

20140227-222009.jpg The good thing about making such drinks – just dump everything into the blender all at once.

20140227-222052.jpg I feel happy already.

20140227-222119.jpg Tadah! Homemade Double Chocolate Chip Frappe (DCCF)!

It tasted really yummy!! But I think the next time I make the drink, I’m gonna change the recipe a little.

Instead of the recipe I got online, here’s my version:
1 cup of milk
2 tablespoons of sugar
1/31/2 cup of chocolate chips
34 tablespoons of chocolate syrup
2 cups of ice
1/8 teaspoon of vanilla extract

And of course, blending everything together.

I’m thinking that the chocolate syrup itself already has some sweetness, so there’s really no need for the sugar. And my version (obviously) is more chocolate loaded. While the original one is pretty yummy, I would really prefer a more chocolaty taste, hence my improvised recipe.

This portion is enough to make about the size of a grande cup from Starbucks (maybe a little more) and I’m gonna save my $6+ plus travelling down to Starbucks just to get the drink. Haha…

Of course, I need to wash the blender after I’m done, but the drink is worth the trouble. 🙂

Leave a Reply

