I don’t know what to name this entry today. No title.

20130803-214919.jpg This is my mum feeding my dad his milk through the tube in his nose.

Because of the 2 surgeries yesterday, my dad will have to be fed this way for the next few weeks. This is not the first time he has to go through this. Last year, he went through a major surgery because of a malignant tumour in his tongue. Yes, tongue. Rare place to have cancer but it happened.

My mum used to run her own business in the market but closed it when my dad went for the surgery last year. Since then, she has been my dad’s personal nurse.

Watching my parents like this never fails to make me well up. I try not to look at them when my dad is having his milk.

From life partners, to business co-workers, to each other’s confidant, to care giver. My parents have gone through it all in their 30-odd years of marriage.

Growing up, I have seen them go through tons of situations together. Success, failure, heartbreaks caused by loved ones, joy of having what they want, everything. They don’t always see eye to eye, and they have their arguments.

But what warms me most and makes me most thankful for my parents is how much they are able to go through with each other. In my parents’ marriage, I see the fulfillment of “in sickness and in health”, they hold on together.

In sickness, my mum is the nurse, the care giver, the unwavering encourager and supporter. In health, they are cycling buddies (they have picked up cycling recently), they are tv buddies, they are soul-mates.

My mum tries not to cry in front of my dad when she is worried or tired. 9 years ago, when my mum went for a surgery, I saw my dad cry. Roles are reversed in times of adversity, and it speaks of how much they care for each other.

I don’t always agree with what my parents think, especially when it comes to parenting issues and the way I discipline Phoebie. But I admire my parents. I admire them for the unconditional, unwavering love, ever-encouraging love they have for each other. Staying with them since we came back to Singapore in October last year, I have learnt much from them about standing by each other, no matter what life brings, “in sickness and in health”.

Pa, Ma, thank you for your life demonstration of love. I pray that I can do as well as you in my own marriage.

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

